24.02 - 17.03.2018
»Afrofuturism is now«
More Aphrike #7 with Nana Adusei-Poku (Dr. des) and with works by Tabita Rezaire, Mohau Modisakeng, The Nest Collective, Sun Ra and others.

Passage  by Mohau Modisakeng
PASSAGE 8, 2017 Image Courtesy Of Mohau Modisakeng, Whatiftheworld & Ron Mandos

Afrofuturism is back. Beyoncé’s video Lemonade or the new Marvel film Black Panther have just as much been influenced by it as have the growing numbers of contemporary works by artists and designers from African countries and the Diaspora.

Afrofuturism is a pop-culture movement which ensued in the African-American communities in the 1950s as a result of racism and discrimination. It then wanted to serve as a contrast to the sad state of current affairs, with an own vision of a future full of hope built on a mythology and aesthetics full of blackness, science fiction, the idea of liberation, surrealism and pop. Many of the issues surrounding society back at that time remain unresolved today. Perhaps this is also the reason why so many creative people have chosen to reawaken the idea of Afrofuturism today.

At the last event within the ‘More Aphrike’ series, we want to learn more about Afrofuturism and, at the same time, view it from an African-centric perspective. What relationship do artists from African countries have to Afrofuturism? Is the latest hype surrounding Afrofuturism a chance to be taken seriously on an international level? Or is Afrofuturism just another label which the Western-dominated art market is slapping on art from African countries? In the talk with Nana Adusei-Poku, we want to discuss this in depth. The talk is supported by a showing of Afrofuturism films and videos presented by M.Bassy, including the classic Space Is the Place by Sun Ra from the year 1974, now in a remastered quality.

Opening at M.Bassy
Tabita Rezaire
Tabita Rezaire

Tabita Rezaire:

The media artist Tabita Rezaira resides and works in Johannesburg, South Africa, as an inter-secular preacher and healer. She teaches Kemetic Kundalini yoga and researches the politics of technology. Tabita Rezaire’s art is dedicated to decolonisation healing through the politics of technology. By moving through architectures of power – both online and offline – her work focuses on the all-pervasive matrix of colonialism and its effect on the identity, technology, sexuality, health and spirituality of the people.

PASSAGE 6, 2017 Image courtesy Mohau Modisakeng, Whatiftheworld & Ron Mandos

Mohau Modisakeng:

Mohau Modisakeng was born in Soweto in 1986 and lives and works between Johannesburg and Cape Town. He completed his undergraduate degree at the Michaelis School of Fine Art, Cape Town in 2009 and worked towards his Master’s degree at the same institution. His work engages race, the militarisation of society and the deep divides of post-apartheid South Africa and the post-colonial continent. He interrogates the collective narratives that inform our experience of the world, in particular those that evoke the black body as a site of fragmentation and distortion.

»We need Prayers :This One Went to Market« von Nest Collective mit Patricia Kihoro

The Nest collective:

The Nest Collective is a creative ensemble consisting of musicians, designers, filmmakers and fashion designers from Nairobi. Founded in 2012, The Nest Collective has already won numerous awards, most of them for the queer film Stories of Our Lives, which has been shown in more than 80 countries. Additionally, The Nest Collective started the first fund for creative companies in East Africa.


Sun Ra:

One of the most significant and well-known representatives of Afrofuturism is the avant-garde jazz musician Herman Blount, who was reborn as the fictional figure Sun Ra from the planet Saturn. His entire collection of musical works covers various futuristic stories about outer space and interstellar voyages, from an African-American perspective. The universe is a utopic place for Sun Ra, where racism and discrimination can be overcome and all people find room for their own stories, thus empowering themselves and gaining freedom.

»SPACE IS THE PLACE« Ein Film von John Coney

Space Is the Place

USA 1974, 81 min., from age 12
Director: John Coney
Starring: Barbara Deloney, Sun Ra, Raymond Johnson, Erika Leder, Christopher Brooks
Camera: Seth Hill
Script: Joshua Smith, Sun Ra
Rapid Eye Movies

»A single copy of the original 35mm film exists today. The company Rapid Eye Lab has now digitalised and remastered it. And because the film is the only document to pass on the music not only of Sun Ra but also his mythical world, this has been deed of heroism for film distribution.«

Süddeutsche Zeitung (2017)

»In Germany, the film has never been shown in cinemas … And so the late unearthing of it amounts to virtually an intergalatical wonder.«

Filmdienst (2017)

Nana Adusei‑Poku

Nana Adusei-Poku:

Nana Adusei-Poku (Dr. des) is an independent scholar, curator, writer and educator as well as Guest Lecturer in the Department Art and Media at the University of the Arts, Zurich. She was Research Professor for Visual Cultures 2015-17 and for Cultural Diversity from 2013-14 at the Hogeschool Rotterdam with affiliation to the Piet Zwart Institute and Willem de Kooning Academy.

24.02.2018, 19.30 Opening & Talk with Nana Adusei-Poku and Musa Okwonga

(This event is now fully booked.)

24.02 - 17.03.2018 Exhibition

10.03.2018, 21.45 and 11.02.2018, 17.00 Filmscreening: Sun Ra in »SPACE IS THE PLACE« in the Metropolis Kino, Hamburg

Opening hours:
Monday-Thursday 11.00-16.00
Satursday 12.00-18.00
Address: Schlüterstrasse 80 // D-20146 Hamburg

Please reserve for the opening event :

Related Articles:
Raimi Gbadamosi Talks with John Akomfrah

Wikis.FU-Berlin by Magdalena Stotter
Did you say Afrofuturism? On labelling art
Afrofuturism: reimagining science and the future from a black perspective
Afrofuturism to everyday futurists – new kinds of artists, power & tech
Utopian and Dystopian Visions of Afrofuturism
Sun Ra’s Full Lecture & Reading List From His 1971 UC Berkeley Course, “The Black Man in the Cosmos”

The event series »More Aphrike« is funded by the TURN Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation, designed to encourage artistic cooperation between Germany and the African continent.

zurück

Ausstellung & Talk

24.02 - 17.03.2018
»Afrofuturism is now«
More Aphrike #7 Ausstellung mit Werken von Tabita Rezaire, Mohau Modisakeng, The Nest Collective, Sun Ra u.a. Zu Gast als Speakerin: Nana Adusei-Poku (Dr. des)

Passage  by Mohau Modisakeng
PASSAGE 8, 2017 Image Courtesy Of Mohau Modisakeng, Whatiftheworld & Ron Mandos


Afrofuturismus ist wieder im Heute gelandet. Beyoncés Video »Lemonade« oder der neue Marvel-Film »Black Panther« sind vom ihm genauso beeinflusst wie eine wachsende Zahl zeitgenössicher Arbeiten von Künstlern und Designern aus afrikanischen Ländern und der Diaspora.

Afrofuturismus ist eine popkulturelle Strömung, enstanden in den afroamerikanischen Communities der 1950er Jahre als Antwort auf Rassismus und Diskriminierung. Der traurigen Gegenwart setzte er die eigene Vision einer hoffnungsvolleren Zukunft entgegen, als eine Art Mythologie und Ästhetik voller Blackness, Science-Fiction, Befreiungsideen, Surrealismus und Pop. Viele der gesellschaftlichen Themen von damals sind heute weiter ungelöst. Vielleicht auch ein Grund, warum so viele Kreative den Afrofuturismus heute wiederbeleben.

Beim letzten Event innerhalb der Veranstaltungsreihe »More Aphrike« wollen wir Afrofuturismus näher kennenlernen und ihn gleichzeitig aus afrozentrierter Perspektive befragen. Wie ist das Verhältnis von Künstlern aus afrikanischen Ländern zum Afrofuturismus? Ist der aktuelle Hype um Afrofuturismus eine Chance für sie, um international wahrgenommen zu werden? Oder ist er nur ein weiteres Label, mit dem der westlich dominierte Kunstmarkt einen Teil aktueller Kunst aus afrikanischen Ländern etikettiert? Im Talk mit Nana Adusei-Poku wollen wir mehr dazu erfahren. Flankierend zeigt M.Bassy dazu afrofuturistische Film- und Videoarbeiten, darunter den Klassiker »Space is the Place« von Sun Ra aus dem Jahr 1974 in neuer Qualität.

Ausstellungseröffnung
Tabita Rezaire
Tabita Rezaire

Tabita Rezaire:

Tabita Rezaire lebt und arbeitet in Johannesburg, Südafrika. Als Medienkünstlerin , Predigerin und Yogalehrerin widmet sie sich in ihrer Kunst um die dekolonialisierende Heilung durch die Politik der Technologien. Indem sie sich – online und offline – durch Architekturen von Macht bewegt, befasst sich ihre Arbeit mit der alles durchdringenden Matrix von Kolonialität und deren Auswirkungen auf Identität, Technologie, Sexualität, Gesundheit und Spiritualität.

PASSAGE 6, 2017 Image courtesy Mohau Modisakeng, Whatiftheworld & Ron Mandos

Mohau Modisakeng:

Mohau Modisakeng wurde im Township Soweto bei Johannesburg geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Südafrika. In seiner künstlerischen Arbeit geht es ihm stark um die Themen Militarisierung der Gesellschaft und die tiefe Spaltung des Post-Apartheid Südafrikas und des gesamten afrikanischen Kontinents. Er untersucht heutige Welterklärungs-Narrative und interessiert sich besonders für den schwarzen Körper als Ort der Fragmentierung und Deformation.

»We need Prayers :This One Went to Market« von Nest Collective mit Patricia Kihoro

The Nest collective:

The Nest Collective ist ein Kreativensemble bestehend aus Musikern, Designern sowie Filme- und Modemachern aus Nairobi. Gegründet im Jahr 2012, hat The Nest bereits zahlreiche Preise gewonnen, die meisten davon für den Queer-Film »Stories of our Lives«, der in mehr als 80 Länder gezeigt wurde. The Nest hat daneben den ersten Fond für kreative Unternehmer in Ost-Afrika gegründet.

Sun Ra

Sun Ra:

Einer der bedeutendsten und bekanntesten Repräsentanten des Afrofuturismus ist der avantgardistische Jazzmusiker Herman Blount, der sich als Kunstfigur Sun Ra vom Planeten Saturn neu erfand. Sein gesamtes musikalisches Werk durchziehen unterschiedliche Zukunftserzählungen über den Weltraum und interstellare Reisen aus einer afroamerikanischen Perspektive. Der Weltraum ist für Sun Ra ein Sehnsuchtsort, an dem Rassismen und Diskriminierungen überwunden werden können und alle Menschen einen Raum für ihre eigene Erzählung finden, sich somit selbst ermächtigen und frei sein können.

»SPACE IS THE PLACE« Ein Film von John Coney

Space Is the Place

US 1974, 81 Min., FSK ab 12 Jahren
Regie: John Coney
Darsteller: Barbara Deloney, Sun Ra, Raymond Johnson, Erika Leder, Christopher Brooks
Kamera: Seth Hill
Drehbuch: Joshua Smith, Sun Ra
Rapid Eye Movies

»Eine einzige Kopie der originalen 35mm-Fassung existiert noch. Die hat die Firma Rapid Eye Lab nun digital abgetastet und nachbearbeitet. Und weil der Film das einzige Dokument ist, das nicht nur Sun Ras Musik, sondern eben auch seine Mythenwelt überliefert, war das eine filmverleiherische Heldentat.«

Süddeutsche Zeitung (2017)

»In Deutschland war der Film überhaupt noch nie im Kino zu sehen… So gleicht diese späte Ausgrabung selbst fast schon einem intergalaktischen Wunder.«

Filmdienst (2017)

Nana Adusei‑Poku

Nana Adusei-Poku:

Nana Adusei-Poku (Dr. des) ist eine unabhängige Wissenschaftlerin, Kuratorin, Autorin und Pädagogin sowie Gastdozentin im Departement Kunst und Medien an der Züricher Hochschule der Künste. Sie war Forschungsprofessorin für Visuelle Kulturen 2015-17 und für Kulturelle Diversität von 2013-14 an der Fachhochschule Rotterdam mit Anbindung an das Piet Zwart Institut und der Willem de Kooning Akademie.

24.02.2018 , 19.30 Ausstellungseröffnung & Talk mit Nana Adusei-Poku und Musa Okwonga

(Die Veranstaltung ist ausgebucht. Anmeldungen sind leider nicht mehr möglich)

Ausstellung 24.02 - 17.03.2018

10.03.2018, 21:45 und 11.03. 2108, 17.00 Filmscreening Sun Ra in »SPACE IS THE PLACE« (1974) im Metropolis Kino, Hamburg

Öffnungszeiten:
Mo-Do 11.00 - 16.00
Samstag 12.00 - 18.00
Sonntag nach Vereinbarung: contact@m-bassy.org
M.Bassy: Schlüterstrasse 80 // D-20146 Hamburg

Anmeldungen zur Eröffnung : reservation@m-bassy.org

Weiterführende links:

comic.de
Schwarze Superhelden, Afrofuturismus und Funky Space – Der popkulturelle Hintergrund des „Black Panther“

blog.faz.net
Aliens und Migranten

contemporaryand.com
Raimi Gbadamosi Talks with John Akomfrah

Wikis.FU-Berlin by Magdalena Stotter
Did you say Afrofuturism? On labelling art

theguardian.com
Afrofuturism: reimagining science and the future from a black perspective

theguardian.com
Afrofuturism to everyday futurists – new kinds of artists, power & tech

slate.com
Utopian and Dystopian Visions of Afrofuturism

openculture.com
Sun Ra’s Full Lecture & Reading List From His 1971 UC Berkeley Course, “The Black Man in the Cosmos”

Die Veranstaltungsreihe »More Aphrike« wird im Rahmen des TURN Fonds für künstlerische Kooperationen zwischen Deutschland und afrikanischen Ländern von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.