back

20.9.2019, 19.00
Asmara – City as a dream

Fiat Tagliero Building, Asmara

Asmara – a city and dream at the same time. The present-day capital of Eritrea was built by Italy between 1893 and 1941 and according to Mussolini’s vision – was meant to become the »Rome of Africa«. Between 1935 and 1941, Asmara became the world’s largest experimental ground for modernist-futuristic architects from Italy. Since 2017 Asmara’s city centre is part of the UNESCO World Heritage.

Although planned and built as an apartheid city with a clear separation of the native population from Italian citizens, Asmara today is a symbol of freedom and for many Eritreans, within and outside the country, a place of longing. Together with architectural historian Edward Denison and his decades of research and photography work, we want to get to know the various layers of Asmara’s significance. We are looking forward to an evening that will show us how a place of European supremacy fantasies can become a place of identification and a future for many Eritreans.

Asmara »Then and now«
Cinema Impero, Asmara
Bar Zilli, Asmara

Edward Denison is an Associate Professor at the Bartlett School of Architecture and University College London. He is a consultant, author and photographer. In 2016, he won the RIBA President’s award for this research on ‘Asmara – Africa’s Modernist City’.

Requested as second guest for the evening:
Yared Tesfai, born in Asmara. He played an instrumental part in the successful application of Asmara becoming an UNESCO World Heritage.

Talk with Edward Denison, guests & Soulfood (SOLD OUT)

20.09.2019 // 19.00
Fee: 15,- Euro
Reservierungen: asmara@m-bassy.org

zurück

20.9.2019, 19.00
Asmara – Stadt als Traum

Fiat Tagliero Building, Asmara

Asmara ist Stadt und Traum zugleich. Erbaut wurde die heutige Hauptstadt Eritreas in mehreren Abschnitten zwischen 1893 und 1941 unter italienischer Kolonialherrschaft und sollte – so Mussolinis Vision – das »Rom Afrikas« werden. In der Zeit von 1935 bis 1941 wurde Asmara so zum weltweit größten Experimentierfeld für modernistisch-futuristische Architekten aus Italien. Seit 2017 ist die Innenstadt Asmaras Teil des UNESCO Weltkulturerbes.

Obwohl geplant und gebaut als Apartheids-Stadt mit klarer Trennung der einheimischen Bevölkerung von italienischen Staatsbürgern, ist Asmara für viele Eritreer in und außerhalb des Landes heute ein Symbol der Freiheit und ein Sehnsuchtsort. Zusammen mit Architekturhistoriker Edward Denison und mithilfe seiner über Jahrzehnte andauernden Forschungs- und Fotografierarbeit wollen wir die verschiedenen Bedeutungsschichten Asmaras besser kennen lernen. Wir freuen uns auf einen Abend, der uns besser verstehen lässt, wie aus einem Ort europäischer Überlegenheitsphantasien ein Raum der Identifikation und der Zukunft für viele Eritreer werden konnte.

Asmara »Then and now«
Cinema Impero, Asmara
Bar Zilli, Asmara

Edward Denison lehrt als außerordentlicher Professor an der Bartlett School of Architecture, am University College in London. Er ist Berater, Autor und Fotograf. 2016 gewann er die RIBA President‘s Auszeichnung für seine Forschung zum Thema ‚Asmara - Africa‘s Modernist City‘

Angefragt als zweiter Talkgast für den Abend: Yared Tesfai, geboren in Asmara. Er war maßgeblich beteiligt an der erfolgreichen Bewerbung Asmaras für das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Talk mit Edward Denison und Gästen & Soulfood (Die Veranstaltung ist leider ausverkauft)

20.09.2019 // 19.00
Fee: 15,- Euro
Reservierungen: asmara@m-bassy.org